Review of Partials by Dan Wells

Format: Paperback
Genres: Dystopia, Sci-Fi,
Pages: 470
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: 29/03/2012
Find The Author: Website ¦ Twitter
Abe Books ¦ Book Depository ¦ Goodreads


For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials - engineered organic beings identical to humans - has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.



Partials has some of the best world building I have ever read. Dan Wells was able to describe a vast, desolate America easily and descriptively, just as well as describing the small community that Kira lives in On top of that, Kira's smart and knows her medical stuff which isn't glossed over - everything is detailed but I never felt confused or stupid about the science side of things and kept up easily. 
 
I really loved Kira, she's become one of my all time favourite female leads. She's very intelligent, pursuing a medical career at the age of 16 but she's also very determined and resourceful. She thinks of new ways that might lead to curing the virus that's killing of the last of humanity babies fairly quickly, and stops at nothing once she puts her mind to it, no matter how worn out she is or how much pain she's in.

The love aspect in this book is very refreshing. Kira does have a boyfriend, Marcus, but unlike most girls in books, she doesn't spend all her time thinking about him when she has more important things to do, like saving the human race. I did twitch a bit when she noted that the Partial was attractive, but there were only hints of something there, no real romance. It was so nice to see that take a back seat!

There's some great characters in here, with really varied personalities. Marcus really kept me laughing throughout the book, so I'm looking forward to seeing more of him in the next book. Xochi was also pretty funny, in a grim, determined Zuzanna (DoSaB) way. Then there's characters that I didn't see enough of in this and hoping to get to know in the next book - Madison and Samm. Did I mention that the reasoning behind Samm's name is seriously cute?

My only problem with this book was that it ended - and on a cliffhanger! I can't order the sequels for 5 days and then I'll have to wait for them to arrive, the waiting is going to kill me, I just know it. The have very high hopes for the next books so I'm really hoping they're just as good as this one.


3 comments:

  1. I'm glad you loved this, Vickie! I loved Partials, too, and I'm sure you're going to enjoy Fragments. I started to read Ruins a few months ago, and for reasons I don't understand, I never finished it. I'll have to fix that soon.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Partials was one of the first books I read when getting back into reading. For some reason I never read books 2 and 3 though. I am really glad you liked it :). Hope you don't have to wait too long for the sequels to arrive! I'll be looking forward to your review of Fragments, to see if it is worth picking it up ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ohhh, I've got this book on my shelf, and now I definitely need to pick it up soon from your amazing review. It sounds like a really refreshing dystopian (which I hardly see any nowadays), and it sounds like I need to get the other two in the series before I start it haha. This sounds like a..... BINGE READ! Can't wait to see what you think of the other two books! (although, I might not read the review and just see your rating so I don't spoil myself haha)

    ReplyDelete

I love meaningful comments! Spam and advertisers* will be deleted.
*advertisers - people who copypasta a few words and leave a link to their blog